Using LiveBinders for Content Curation


What Am I Supposed to Do With All This Information?

So it was not even 2 months ago that I joined Twitter…

…not even two months ago that I started ‘favoriting’ all those great links other educators posted on Twitter.  Great links to all kinds of interesting educational topics.

What was I going to do with all that content?  I couldn’t just let my Favorites stream get even longer!

Then I ran across the terms “Content Curation” and “Social Bookmarking”.  Seems these two terms are synonymous, and refer to what someone has to do with all the information they are bombarded with when they use social media – like Twitter.  In his Influential Marketing Blog, Rohit Bhargava talks of five models of Content Curation: aggregation, distillation, elevation, mashups, and chronology.  While his posting was fascinating (go ahead, add it to your favorites), I just wanted a place to organize my material for later use, and perhaps to share with other educators.

After looking at Evernote, Symbaloo, Diigo, Pinterest, and LiveBinders, I decided that @LiveBinders served my particular needs the best.  The layout isn’t particularly visually appealing, but its organizational method closely resembles my old fashioned file cabinet and my bookshelf of 3-ring binders.  Call me old, it’s OK.

In a LiveBinder, you organize each main topic into a binder, for example “Teacher Resources”.  Inside each binder are tabs (I used Teacher Blogs, Classroom Tech, Teaching Articles, Flipped Classrooms, Project-Based Learning, and Game-Based Learning).  Each tab can then be opened to reveal sub tabs, which are the links themselves.  The cool thing is that these links are live, and not just snapshots of what WAS.  Once you access them from within the binder, the links are still active.

from MrWeld's "Teacher Resources"

Screen Shot of LiveBinder "Teacher Resources" by Matthew Weld

People have been busy using LiveBinders to curate their content.  There are hundreds of binders already made on just about as many topics – from weight loss and the US Presidents to using Angry Birds in the classroom.  You can comment on them, rate them, and some authors even allow you to add to their binders – nothing like crowd sourcing to find the best information available!

If your ‘favorites’ stream in Twitter is getting just a tad too long, check out LiveBinders, download the “LiveBinder It” button for your toolbar, and start quickly building a resource for not only you, but for the other members of your Professional Learning Network.

My LiveBinder, “Teacher Resources” can be found here.

As always, I invite comments and suggestions – I’m always wanting to learn!

~Matt

One comment on “Using LiveBinders for Content Curation

  1. Thanks so much for sharing LiveBinders! Just so you know, we are working on that ‘visually appealing’ part.

    I can’t tell you how much fun it has been to watch the community and resources grow. Search any educational topic on LiveBinders and you can find that someone else has gathered resources on the subject.

    Your binder is a great resource and very well organized, thanks for making it public on the site and contributing to this great library!

Leave a Reply

